Painting in Acrylic: Inner Child

This painting has an interesting story to go along with it. Last week my husband had the kids painting with my paints and brushes. This was the day I used oil pastels to create three quick drawings. Today, while going through my canvases I found my youngest’s creation. When I saw it I felt I needed to use it for my next painting. And that’s exactly what I did.

Inner ChildWM.png

My son had finger painted a pretty marvelous work of art on his own. All I did was enhance some of the colors and add the Light Language. Yes, his painting had the four connected circles. He did that all on his own. I added more color and texture but basically what you see is 75% his creation. So technically this piece should have his signature but he can’t write his name yet.

I knew the moment I saw it that it would be called Inner Child. I also got the symbol straight away. It was as if the painting had been waiting for me all this time hidden in the dark closet. But isn’t digging around in hidden places what the inner child does best? 🙂

This painting is on a 16×20 canvas and when I look at it I can’t take my eyes off of it. I keep seeing things in the patterns and lines. It reminded me instantly of a picture my grandmother had in her living room. It was of a dirt trail through a forest. It left one wondering where it might lead. When I was young I use to stare at it endlessly, dreaming of all the wonderful destinations it led to. That was the kind of child I was, though. A dreamer with a wild imagination.

When I look at this painting I see greenery and flowering vines. It also resembles a fairy tale book cover for some reason. It makes me feel happy – like a child again. And that is exactly what it is suppose to do.

What do you see when you look at this painting?

This entry was posted in Art, Light Language and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Painting in Acrylic: Inner Child

  1. herongrace says:

    Beautiful painting and pretty awesome from a 3 year old! He looks like a budding Picasso!
    Yes I see a map leading to mysterious places.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. etherealbeingsinmylife says:

    I see the human heart. Not the chakra but the physical heart. I believe that when small children do art work, even though it may look like mere scribbles to some, there is profound meaning and symbolism in their work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

