Painting in Acrylic: Desolation

Completed a painting yesterday. I had actually planned the painting a while back, maybe a few months ago now, but put it aside. Something was not right about the timing of it. Then, out of the blue, the image of the tree came to mind and I shuffled through sketches I had done in order to find it. Thankfully it was not difficult to find.

DesolationWM.png

Desolation

The entire time I was painting the feeling was that this painting somehow represented the end of something – a death. So, at first, I thought it wanted to be named “Death”. Yet that didn’t feel quite right. I slept on it and this morning the name was revealed, “Desolation.”

The definition here is more along the lines of something being barren; or a time of utter devastation. There is also a certain isolation felt, of being devoid of companionship. The barren tree is a perfect representation of how desolation looks and feels. It is the space between endings and beginnings. Can a person occupying a space of desolation begin again? Do they have the strength, the courage, to break new ground, to burst forth with growth in the Spring? Or will they let their roots shrivel and dry up until the wind uproots them and tosses their remains back into the soil? Will they hang on until they have no choice but to let go? Either way, the cycle of life and death will go on. There is no escaping it.

 

This entry was posted in Art, Light Language and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Painting in Acrylic: Desolation

  1. herongrace says:

    I can relate to what you say Dayna. Not personally at the moment thankfully. A few months ago someone I knew pulled 3 cards from a tarot deck I did not know and asked me to read them. The 1st was a big tree on a hill in a verdant scene. The 2nd was the same tree on a wintry, snowy background. Can’t remember the 3rd. Since that time her life has turned topsy turvy and I see the direction she is heading towards has the potential for desolation. She has been going through difficult transits and I believe much of what has happened has been through her own denial of the outcomes of her behaviour.
    It could be difficult to rebuild especially if she refuses to honestly look at her behaviours.
    Truly that image can portray desolation.
    Synchro again as yesterday I went to the market to buy 2 more healing! trees from the grower to give to friends to plant. Fruitful planning for the future.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dayna says:

      Wow. Thank you for sharing. That description just kinda poured out of me as I was writing the post. I saw clearly why I painted the painting and what it’s message was for me. I am in the desolation stage, at that point where I can courageously move forward or sit and wait, allowing my roots to ultimately shrivel up until the wind uproots me forcibly. Unfortunately I feel I am at the wait for my roots to shrivel stage. I just can’t move from where I’m at. Maybe my roots are too strong and too deep? Sigh.

      Like

      • herongrace says:

        Wow Dayna! I am sorry that you feel at desolation stage. Mt friend and I were discussing this yesterday.
        I too described a total desolation phase in my life where I had a massive life change forced on me as I was too afraid to make the necessary move.
        I am not saying you should do this or comparing you to this other person.
        Your intellect and self honesty are way above the other person’s.
        You are also brave.
        If our life paths are meant to change direction, then eclipses are usually quite ruthless in shoving us through the right door!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Dayna says:

        I am making some changes now, but nothing rash or out of character for me. I prefer to have my roots yanked out forcefully (not really lol). 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Input Needed | A Walk-In Life

Leave a Reply

