An Observation

There is one particular change to my personality that I have been observing which is acutely different from the me of the past. I have been hesitant to post it because I did not wish to offend anyone and then realized that consideration in itself is indicative of the old and must also be relinquished.

Observation: Human Attachment to Pets

My earliest memories are of my affinity for animals. My sisters and I were always gathering up stray dogs and bringing them home or tending to injured wild animals that we found. We once brought home an abandoned Irish Setter with mange. We kept her and she became a beloved pet we named Jennifer. We also tried to save an injured bat but my father said it was rabid and made up seal it in a jar to die of suffocation. Another time we saved an abandoned fawn and took it to someone who nursed it to adulthood.

There are so many stories, many of which left me with deep scars for the loss that resulted. Still other memories fill me with great joy.

My attachment to my Australian Shepard, Trooper, resulted in an intense period of grieving for me (9 months or more) when I lost him in 2012. I have never suffered as much pain from the loss of a pet – or a person. It was like a part of me died and never returned.

5 days old

Picture of Trooper with my daughter and oldest son in 2011.

That brings me to present time. My neighbors recently got a new puppy. They are outside with it constantly and talking in high pitched, baby-talk. When I first observed this I reacted in quite a different way than is my norm. I thought it was totally ridiculous and absurd to react to an animal in such a way. I have seen the puppy, and though it is cute, I feel that it should not be a pet at all and that the humans who are keeping it as a pet should respect animals by never keeping them caged or separate from their natural environment.

With this I became critical even and then realized that was the old me reacting to the loss of my previous desire to have a pet. In so recognizing this, there came a realization that having a pet at all stems from the human desire to keep close to them something of nature. Pets serve this purpose especially now, when humanity has separated themselves so much from nature that few humans in “civilization” ever immerse themselves in a natural environment. We fool ourselves into believing that the parks and recreational areas we have created are “nature” and return home to our pets, oblivious to the fact that we ourselves are the ones who have been caged.

In the early days of conversing with my Companion, he often remarked about my attachment to my dog, Trooper. He would laugh or ask me questions about how I treated him. He would comment, “He is an animal” as if I needed that pointed out to me. Perhaps I did, for I treated him much like my own child and often called him, “Baby” or “little boy”. To me, he was my ever-loyal companion and friend. He was beyond “human”, he was better than any human I have ever known.

I now see why my Companion found my attachment so funny. It is also clear to me why he warned me of Trooper’s coming death a whole year in advance. He knew I would suffer greatly from the loss of my friend.

My personal feeling now is that no animal should be kept as a pet. I will never own a pet again and I will not allow my children to own one, either. It is does us no good and it definitely does not help the pet. Animals belong in their natural environment. We have done the canine a disservice by making him dependent upon us. When, in the future, we are unable to care for all the millions of domesticated pets we have created, we will be forced to confront the problem we have created.

 

This entry was posted in walk-in and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Observation

  1. I completely agree with not keeping animals for our selfish desires, it’s not natural to take them out of their habitats. I recently had a beautiful cat come to visit us outside my home, and we offered it water and food, but Im glad it went back home to it’s family. I used to have a lot of pets too, and was a dog groomer/kennel technician. I love animals, I just don’t want to put them in prison in my home any longer, I want them to all be free.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dayna says:

      🙂 Perhaps that is where we are heading? It is funny, after I posted this I remembered I have allowed my kids to have a pet – two betas (fish). Every time I look at them I feel sorry for them. I wish I could set them free but to put them in our creek would mean their demise. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. herongrace says:

    My 1st reaction to that photo was to gasp at the beauty of it! What a lovely girl and look at the love from that dog. I adore dogs but I also decided after the death of my beloved poo healer [half poodle x Aussie cattle dog mix Lol!] that I do not want the responsibility of having the long term care of a domestic animal again and I take very seriously the commitment I have made to this property that it is an important wildlife corridor and I will preserve it as such.
    I do love interacting with my birds tho’ on a daily basis and watching the wallabies and when my possums let me pat them.
    I finished reading Michael Roads “Through the Eyes of Love: Journeying with Pan” Book 3 yesterday and he has some really interesting messages on how we will relate to animals in the future which I loved reading. Cheers, thanks for beautiful photo!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dayna says:

      Thank you! ❤ My daughter was nearly 3 in that photo. Trooper did really well with her and my son. Unfortunately, he died before my son really could remember him. Sorry to hear about your poo healer.

      I am more and more curious about that book. I will need to inspect this new attitude toward pets to see what it tells me.

      Like

      • herongrace says:

        Yes you can look him up online. He is right up there with the best. All of is books are inspirational. He has been giving workshops around the world for more than 20 years as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Cheryl A Smith says:

    Even in nature there are relationships that don’t seem natural, yet they exist. I agree that our relationship to animals is changing, but I can’t say that it means separation, to me.

    A few years ago my nephew came home with a baby bird. My mother raised him to a lovely adult male bluejay. When I visited he would swoop out of the trees to come see me. He came up to the house and took grapes off the bunch kept on the table. For several years he even brought his Babis to show them off. At the same time Mom’s bluejay matured enough to fly and venture out, I had another bluejay come into my life. This one was 10 miles away at my condo. He was raised by his parents like wild birds normally are, but for some odd reason this one was swooping down at my husband and I playfully like Mom’s bird. Even stranger, he would come swooping down to us and take dog food from our hands when we were feeding our dog treats.

    I don’t think it is natural to be separate from nature. Before we had monstrous houses and cities, we were very close to nature daily. Animals helped us with heavy work and we gave them shelter and food in return.

    Many people are deciding not to own pets and this is fantastic on many levels. I have always communicated with animals and I continue to be very close to them, in the wild and domestic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

